Moonrise by Rudolf Erdei

The path to becoming a Professional Photographer (and why you should probably not do it).

Rudolf Erdei
6 min readMay 15, 2020

--

To be honest, right now I’m starting to feel old. When I began learning about photography, around 14 years ago, everything was different. There was no plethora of information like there is today, no internet, nobody to guide you or ask something. And this, arguably, made me a better professional photographer.

How I began my journey as a professional photographer

I grew up as an introverted child, between books and electronic components. I loved the freedom I got from thinking ahead what I wanted to build and loved the whole process or making something. One day, after I started my first job, somehow I started thinking about creativity and photography, got my first loan and bought a compact camera.

There was this PC magazine (called CHIP) that had a special issue with the title “How to improve your photographs” that was released exactly that month. Was that fate? I bought that magazine with my chocolate money and read it over and over again on the course of the next months. There were some guidelines, as we call them today, like the rule of thirds, a few paragraphs about how to pose a portrait, some lighting general guidelines.

--

--

Rudolf Erdei

Ex professional photographer, rookie watercolor painter, currently working in computer science research.